Page 49 - Atouts-Cameroun-2017
P. 49

49He fixes their powers and terminates their functions.THE PRIME MINISTER HEAD OF GOVERNMENTThe Prime Minister is the Head of Government and directs Government action. The Prime Minister exercises regulatory power and appoints civil servants, subject to the prerogatives of the President of the Republic in these areas. He leads all administrative services necessary for the accomplishment of missions assigned him. He may delegate some of his powers to members of Government and senior officials for the adminis- tration of the State. The functions of member of the Government and similar are incompatible with the exercise of any Parliamentary function, the chairing of any executive organ or meeting of a local or regional authority, any position of occupational representation at National level and any employment or occupation.The Government is responsible for the implemen- tation of the policy of the Nation as defined by the President of the Republic. He is responsible to the National Assembly under the conditions and according to the procedures laid down in Article 34 of the Constitution.THE PARLIAMENTLegislative power is exercised by Parliament, which comprises two chambers:n The National Assembly n The Senate.The Parliament legislates and oversees Government action.The National assemblyThe National Assembly is comprised of four hun- dred and twenty (180) deputies elected through direct and secret universal polls for a term of five years. The number of elected members of the National Assembly may be changed by law. Each member represents the entire Nation. Any imperative mandate is null.The National Assembly adopts laws by a simple majority of MPs. It adopts or rejects the texts sub- mitted for its review by the Senate, in accor- dance with Article 30 of the Constitution. Before promulgation, laws are subject to a request for second reading by the President of the Republic. In this case, these laws are adopted by the abso- lute majority of MPs.The SenateThe Senate represents the decentralized territorial communities. Each region is represented in the Senate by ten senators seven of whom are elec- ted through indirect universal polls on a regional basis and three appointed by the President.Candidates for the office of Senator and perso- nalities appointed to the position by the President of the Republic must have forty years of age on the date of election or appointment. The term of office for senators is five years.The Senate adopts laws by a simple majority of senators. It may make amendments or reject all or part of the bill submitted to it review, pursuant to Article 30 of the Constitution. Before promulga- tion, laws are subject to a request for second rea- ding by the President. In this case, the laws are adopted by an absolute majority of senators.CONSTITUTIONAL COUNCILThe Constitutional Council is one of the new ins- titutions created by Law No. 96/06 of 18 January 1996 amending the Constitution of 2nd June 1972. In Article 46, the Constitution defines it as the appropriate body responsible for constitutional matters. It rules on the constitu- tionality of laws. It is the regulating body for the functioning of institutions. It has final ruling in its field of competence which shall include among others the following:• The constitutionality of laws, treaties and inter- national agreements;• The Rules of procedure of the National Assembly and the Senate;• Conflicts of powers between State institutions; between the State and the regions; between regions.L’Assemblée Nationale à YaoundéLES ATOUTS ECONOMIQUES DU CAMEROUN

   47   48   49   50   51