Page 50 - Atouts-Cameroun-2017
P. 50

50Article 48 stipulates that the Constitutional Council shall ensure the regularity of Presidential elections, Parliamentary elections and referen- dum operations. The Constitutional Council announces the results of its consultations.The Constitutional Council consists of 11 mem- bers appointed for a term of six years renewable once. These members appointed by the President of the Republic are designated as follows:n Three including the Chairman of the Council by the President of the Republic;n Three by the Speaker of the National Assembly after advice from the Office;n Three by Senate President after consultation with the Office;n Two by the Board of the judiciaryThe Supreme Court is currently performing the Constitutional Council attributions and will do it until the implementation thereof (Article 67).ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COUNCILCreated by the Constitution (Article 54), the Economic and Social Council is governed by Law No. 86/009 of 5th July 1986. It is answerable before the President of the Republic on requests for studies or opinions. This referral is required to review the program of legislation or economic plan.The Economic and Social Council consists of 150 members appointed by Presidential decree. Since 1986, with the abandonment of five-year plan and the implementation of structural adjust- ment plans, the Economic and Social Council has not been seized.POLITICAL ORGANIZATIONPOLITICAL PARTIESThe Cameroon Constitution grants political par- ties an important role because "parties and poli- tical groups contribute to the polls." They must res- pect the principles of democracy, sovereignty and National unity (Article 3).The creation of political parties is totally free: for example, nearly two hundred political parties are currently registered at the Ministry of Territorial Administration. The political parties operate in accordance with Law No. 90/056 of 19th December 1990.ADMINISTRATIVE ORGANISATIONINTRODUCTIONThe administrative organization of Cameroon is defined by the Constitution. It introduces the map- ping of Cameroon territory in two main decentra- lized communities that are the regions and muni- cipalities, and delineates the administrative divi- sions in three sectors presented below.TERRITORIAL ADMINISTRATIONThe Ministry of Territorial Administration and Decentralization is responsible for the organiza- tion and operation of decentralized administration services, while ensuring the regulation of popula- tions. It is also responsible for the implementation of the National decentralization policy.According to the provisions of Presidential Decree 2008/376 of 12th November 2008 on admi- nistrative organization Cameroon, the territory ofLES ATOUTS ECONOMIQUES DU CAMEROUNPolitical organizations participate in the polls

   48   49   50   51   52